Harry Potter – The Seven Books

posted in: Articles

The Harry Potter series is breathtaking and awe-inspiring beyond doubt. It has enthralled a wide audience all around the world comprising of young children to parents and even elders. Not to mention the hype that surrounds the huge fan following that is aptly known as Potter Mania. People across the globe have loved these stories in which the magic and mysteries unfold in the most unique manner, so there is little doubt that the series is truly the best in its genre.

The series has been translated into 67 different languages, and it comes as no surprise that it has a huge following worldwide. It comprises of seven unique stories that have been beautifully crafted, so much so that the readers find it really hard to put down. These seven stories have also found their way to the silver screen and have cast their magic on the movie bound audience as well. The seven series are briefly described as follows:

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
This is the first of the series that begins with Harry Potter, who is orphaned as a baby and spends 11 years of his life with his cruel aunt, uncle and cousin Dudley. His miseries come to an end when an owl brings him a mysterious letter, inviting him to attend a school of wizards. Harry’s life is transformed radically at the school where he makes friends, participates in aerial sports and experiences magic in everything, ranging from food to his wizardry classes. In a nutshell, he discovers the great destiny that has been awaiting him. This debut novel won the author the renowned ‘England’s National Book Award’ and the coveted ‘Smarties Prize’.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Harry is in his second year at Hogwarts whilst the chamber of secrets is opened for the first time in 50 years. As a consequence; a monster is set free. He in turn, petrifies the Hogwarts students, and turns them into stone. The primary suspect however, is Harry himself. Besides this, adding to the mystery are numerous spiders, a ghost named Moaning and a death day party. The tale is filled with suspense, thrills and drama that keep you enchanted till the very end. This tale portrays the ultimate victory of good over evil.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Harry Potter, the young wizard-in-training, has returned for his third year at the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. He is all geared up for more adventure and more magical escapades. In the meanwhile, a dangerous convict is on the loose and a well known madman has a mysterious bond to Harry’s past. He’s life is in danger and his sorcery skills are being tested. Ultimately the suspense lies in whether Harry catches the criminal and unravels the truth or the truth remains uncovered till the end.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
This is the fourth novel of the series and a pivotal one in the entire tale of Harry’s training as a wizard. Harry Potter wishes to get away from the destructive Dursleys and go to the ‘International Quid ditch Cup’ with Ron, Hermione and the Weasleys. He thinks constantly about his crush Cho Chang and longs to be a normal 14 year old. But he is not normal; not even by the specific standards. The very fact that he is different could actually prove to be deadly. Harry eagerly looks forward to the magic at Hogwarts and a much awaited competition that is taking place for the first time in a hundred years.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
The fifth story in the series is considered to be the richest installment of this best loved long spun wizardry tale. Harry Potter is faced with the irregularity and impotence in the governance of the magical world and the administration at Hogwarts. This turns him more towards his friends and strengthens his bond with them. He finds boundless loyalty and unbearable sacrifice. The plot runs thick and the readers will find it truly stimulating to turn pages till the very end.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
He has entered the sixth year at Hogwarts and the war against Voldemort is not going too well. The obituary pages do offer steady surprises and the ‘Order of the Phoenix’ suffers immense losses. The ‘Weasley twins’ are seen expanding their business whilst teenagers are flirting, fighting and eventually falling in love. In this series, classes are seldom straightforward. In the meanwhile, Harry receives some unexpected help from the mysterious Half-Blood Prince and the situation turns out even more shocking.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
This blockbuster series which J. K. Rowling has created with enduring appeal and charm, culminates in this seventh tale. This is the final confrontation of a boy – the chosen one and a symbol of hope of the wizardry and the muzzle worlds. In this series, the kindly Dumbledore, the sinister Snape and his awful cousin appear more complicated to the reader than ever before. Like Harry Potter, they have multiple and hidden facets to their personalities.